Ring a Bell for a Dream

1963 March on Washington, D.C. Photo by Warren K. Leffler via Library of Congress.

1963 March on Washington, D.C. Photo by Warren K. Leffler via Library of Congress.

“I have a dream that one day this nation will rise up, live out the true meaning of its creed: ‘We hold these truths to be self-evident, that all men are created equal.’” Fifty years ago, on August 28, 1963, Martin Luther King, Jr., delivered an inspiring speech that became a defining moment for both the civil rights movement and the 20th century. Now you can join in a worldwide commemoration of that historic event.

The Martin Luther King, Jr. Center for Nonviolent Social Change invites Americans and people throughout the world to “Let Freedom Ring” by ringing a bell on August 28th at 3:00 EST (2:00 CST) in memory of Dr. King’s speech. You can read his speech online, watch a video, and get inspired by going here.

Be There with Bells On

Join KHC in a virtual bell ringing and online viewing of Dr. King’s “I Have a Dream” speech at 3 PM EST (2 PM CST) on August 28th by tweeting the following:

Ring! In honor of the 50th anniversary of the #ihaveadream speech #MLKDREAM50 http://1.usa.gov/176OAMT http://youtu.be/smEqnnklfYs @kshumanities

http://1.usa.gov/176OAMT is a link to an mp3 of a bell ringing via the National Park Service’s “How The Liberty Bell may have sounded” page.

http://youtu.be/smEqnnklfYs is a link to a YouTube video of Dr. King delivering his “I Have a Dream” speech in 1963.

You can also retweet KHC’s tweet on Twitter or share KHC’s post on Facebook to commemorate this pivotal event in American history.